How to Forget Wi-Fi on your Devices

KB 609 · System Admin · Nov 21, 2025, 12:49 PM · 711 views

Each time you update your APU password, we recommend forgetting the APUWIFI on all of your devices. Make sure to reconnect to APUWIFI using your new credentials right away to prevent your account from getting locked out. In general, we recommend clearing your browser cache as well to prevent any old cached passwords from locking you out. Since the system sees it as an old (incorrect) password attempting to connect to your account, it often leads to a "too many incorrect attempts" situation that causes your account to lock.

 

Please “forget” the Wi-Fi network on all your personal devices and reconnect using your new password.

Below are instructions for the most common devices:

iPhone / iPad (iOS)

  1. Open Settings
  2. Tap Wi-Fi
  3. Tap the (i) icon next to the network
  4. Select Forget This Network
  5. Reconnect and enter your new password

Android Phones / Tablets

(Notes: Steps may vary slightly by device)

  1. Open Settings
  2. Go to Network & Internet or Connections
  3. Tap Wi-Fi
  4. Tap the network name and select Forget
  5. Reconnect using your new password

Windows Laptop

  1. Click the Wi-Fi icon in the taskbar
  2. Select Network and Internet settings
  3. Click Manage known networks
  4. Choose the network and click Forget
  5. Reconnect using your new password

MacBook (macOS)

  1. Click the Wi-Fi icon in the menu bar
  2. Select Wi-Fi Settings
  3. Click Details next to the network
  4. Click Forget This Network
  5. Reconnect and enter your new password

 

Was this article helpful?